IoT consulting for medium-sized companies

From sensor to business model

 

NXTGN-Video-Maschinenbau-2.0

A majority of medium-sized companies in Germany already have IoT projects in the pipeline or have successfully implemented them. You can achieve the overarching business goal of building strategic competitive advantages through digitalisation in different ways. NXTGN Solutions shows you unused business potential in the Internet of Things based on concrete use cases and can give advise on planning and implementation. Our big plus: We are both consultants and doers with practical experience. We accompany you from the sensor to the business model!

 

NXTGN-Video-Maschinenbau-2.0
 

Digitisation is in full swing

The networking of sensors, devices and machines in the Internet of Things, in skilful interaction with automation and technologies such as machine learning and AI, unleashes huge leaps in productivity and growth. Industry in particular is benefiting from the opportunities to use new information and live data to make processes more efficient, cost-effective, transparent and flexible. By offering innovative services such as plant monitoring, predictive maintenance or pay-per-use billing, promising new markets can also be opened up.

Challenges during implementation - and how they can be solved ...

During implementation, this digital transformation entails a huge change process in the company, because it affects the entire value chain. A wide variety of devices and systems must be integrated and connected with each other without any losses. A flood of data must be channelled, collected and analysed. Our work starts with necessary things like calculating the battery life of an IoT device, deals with the adaptation of organisational and IT infrastructure as well as the selection of suitable technologies and ends, last but not least, with ensuring data quality and data security. And all this under the premise of the greatest possible economic efficiency and future-oriented scalability!

 

The most important goals of IIoT in SMEs

Cost reduction

 

Increase in turnover

Securing competitiveness

Increasing productivity and efficiency

 

Customer loyalty, e.g. through IoT services

 

Maximum energy efficiency

More flexible manufacturing.

Better product quality

 

Proof of concept in 30 days

In these dynamic times, an IoT project must also be quickly realisable - naturally on the basis of a resilient decision-making foundation. Within 30 days, the NXTGN consultants will present initial feasibility results. Arrange a non-binding initial meeting right away!

MAKE A CONSULTATION APPOINTMENT

 

Typical applications for IIoT - the Industrial Internet of Things

NXTGN is more than a full service provider for IoT projects. In our eyes, building and maintaining long-term customer partnerships is a win-win situation for all sides. The industry and application experience our IoT experts have gained over many years benefits you in ongoing consulting as well as in the implementation of software and hardware solutions.

  • Key application: Predictive Maintenance

    Predictive maintenance is one of the most frequently discussed use cases for IoT - and with good reason. It extends the service life and durability of machines and reduces the costs for spare parts, maintenance and repair.

    But for many companies, digitalisation is limited to remote services, networked process monitoring and the extrapolation of failure probabilities from historical data. However, real added value is only achieved through the intelligent use of the acquired data for a reliable, algorithm-based real-time forecast. This includes current process and machine data, information on part batches as well as findings from previous maintenance and repairs. For example, a self-learning system can determine which conditions promote wear and failure of machines in production operations and changes the machine settings accordingly.

     

  • From machine builder to service provider

    For machine builders, IoT technology offers excellent opportunities to generate revenue with customers beyond the actual hardware and classic maintenance contracts. Smart, proactive maintenance is based on the simultaneous monitoring of thousands of machines and systems. Make this data available to your customers as a service.

    Such a "Product-as-a-Service" (PaaS) model is far more competitive compared to the traditional business model, because the collection of data - once implemented - is not very costly. The benefits, on the other hand, are enormous, because now you can offer the proactive service as a service. You stand out from the competition and strengthen customer loyalty at the same time.

  • Key application logistics

    Logistics costs are a relevant cost factor across all industries. Smart IoT applications not only reduce costs, but also increase delivery reliability and monitor product quality along the entire supply chain. Depending on the requirements, numerous sensors constantly report all relevant data on the location, the product condition, the environmental conditions and trigger defined alarm routines in the event of limit values being exceeded, for example.

  • Business Case Process Container

    The continuous monitoring of process containers in transit has been extremely difficult for companies in the pharmaceutical, cosmetics and food industries. A web-based IoT application can create the necessary transparency to ensure quality throughout the entire supply chain. Read our case study vessel.digital: the solution for effective monitoring of process containers.

  • Key application process manufacturing

    Efficient production planning in the process industry is an extremely complex challenge. An IoT solution can support here in many places with monitoring, analyses and other digital services; such as remote monitoring, visualisation and real-time monitoring of plant locations, inline quality monitoring in the food and pharmaceutical industry via image processing systems and much more. The benefits are optimised processes and operations, better product quality, less waste and fewer plant breakdowns.

  • Business Case IBC

    Integrate maintenance companies, customers and manufacturers to make the cleaning process and deployment of IBCs as effective as possible. Read our case study Service Portal for effective tracking of IBCs.

 

The right IoT platform

IoT solutions enable the networking of devices and machines in the real world with the digital corporate world. Sensors and other measuring devices deliver vast amounts of unstructured data, and the challenge of mastering fast transmission and high data availability grows daily.

Figuratively speaking, the first task of companies in the digitalisation process is to bring order to this Babylonian tangle of languages. The basis for this are IoT platforms. This is where the incoming digital information is collected, managed and prepared for analysis and visualisation. NXTGN Solutions advises you on the choice of IoT platform that is perfectly suited to your requirements.

The most important requirements for an IoT platform:

  • Scalability
  • Security
  • Integration of business applications such as ERP system and CRM system
  • Optimal lifecycle costs
  • Available standards for app programming, data visualisation and device management (sensors, microcontrollers, gateways, etc.)

Whether the creation of virtual machines (digital twins) or an interactive service portal, we can get started with the realisation practically immediately - and on the same platform.

 

Proof of concept in 30 days

Within 30 days, we will present you with a basis for decision-making for your IoT project based on reliable data and simulations. Arrange a non-binding initial consultation right away!

IoT-Beratung für mittelständische Unternehmen

Vom Sensor zum Geschäftsmodell

 

 

 

Eine Mehrheit der mittelständischen Unternehmen in Deutschland hat bereits IoT- Projekte in der Pipeline oder erfolgreich implementiert. Das übergeordnete, unternehmerische Ziel, über die Digitalisierung strategische Wettbewerbsvorteile aufzubauen, können Sie auf unterschiedlichen Wegen erreichen. NXTGN Solutions zeigt Ihnen anhand konkreter Anwendungsfälle ungenutzte Businesspotenziale im Internet of Things auf und berät Sie bei der Planung und Implementierung. Unser großes Plus: Wir sind sowohl Consultants als auch praxiserfahrene Macher. Wir begleiten Sie vom Sensor bis zum Geschäftsmodell!

 

Die Digitalisierung ist im vollen Gange

Die Vernetzung von Sensoren, Geräten und Maschinen im Internet of Things setzt im gekonnten Zusammenspiel mit Automatisierung und Technologien wie Machine Learning und KI gewaltige Produktivitäts- und Wachstumssprünge frei. Vor allem die Industrie profitiert von den Möglichkeiten, neue Informationen und Live-Daten für die effizientere, kostengünstigere, transparentere und flexiblere Gestaltung von Prozessen zu nutzen. Über das Angebot innovativer Dienstleistungen wie Anlagenmonitoring, Predictive Maintenance oder Pay-per-Use-Abrechnung erschließen sich darüber hinaus vielversprechende, neue Märkte.

Herausforderungen bei der Implementierung – und wie Sie gelöst werden können …

Während der Implementierung bringt diese digitale Transformation einen gewaltigen Veränderungsprozess im Unternehmen mit sich, denn sie betrifft die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette. Unterschiedlichste Devices und Systeme müssen integriert und verlustfrei miteinander vernetzt werden. Eine Flut an Daten muss kanalisiert, gesammelt und analysiert werden. Unsere Arbeit beginnt bei notwendigen Dingen wie der Berechnung der Batterielebensdauer eines IoT-Geräts, befasst sich mit der Anpassung von Organisations- und IT-Infrastruktur sowie der Auswahl geeigneter Technologien und endet nicht zuletzt mit der Sicherstellung von Datenqualität und Datensicherheit. Und das unter der Prämisse größtmöglicher Wirtschaftlichkeit und zukunftsorientierter Skalierbarkeit!

 

Die wichtigsten Ziele von IIoT im Mittelstand

Kostenreduktion

 

Umsatzsteigerung

Sicherung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit

Steigerung von Produktivität und Effizienz

 

Kundenbindung z. B. durch IoT-Services

 

Maximale Energieeffizienz

Flexiblere Fertigung.

Bessere Produktqualität

 

In 30 Tagen zum Proof of Concept

In diesen dynamischen Zeiten muss auch ein IoT-Projekt schnell realisierbar sein – natürlich auf Basis einer belastbaren Entscheidungsgrundlage. Innerhalb von 30 Tagen präsentieren die NXTGN Consultants erste Ergebnisse zur Machbarkeit. Vereinbaren Sie gleich ein unverbindliches Erstgespräch!

Beratungstermin vereinbaren

 

Typische Anwendungen für IIoT – das Industrial Internet of Things

NXTGN ist mehr als ein Full Service Provider für IoT-Projekte. In unseren Augen sind Aufbau und Pflege langfristiger Kundenpartnerschaften eine Win-win-Situation für alle Seiten. Die in vielen Jahren erworbene Branchen- und Anwendungserfahrung unserer IoT-Experten kommt Ihnen bei der laufenden Beratung ebenso wie bei der Implementierung von Soft- und Hardwarelösungen zugute.

  • Schlüsselanwendung: Predictive Maintenance
    Die vorausschauende Instandhaltung (Predictive Maintenance) ist einer der am häufigsten diskutierten Anwendungsfälle für IoT – und das mit gutem Grund. Sie verlängert Standzeiten und Lebensdauer von Maschinen und reduziert die Kosten für Ersatzteile, Wartung und Reparatur.

    Doch bei vielen Unternehmen beschränkt sich die Digitalisierung auf Remote-Services, vernetzte Prozessüberwachung und die Hochrechnung von Ausfallwahrscheinlichkeiten aus historischen Daten. Ein echter Mehrwert stellt sich aber erst durch die intelligente Nutzung der gewonnenen Daten für eine zuverlässige, algorithmusbasierte Echtzeitprognose ein. In diese fließen aktuelle Prozess- und Maschinendaten, die Informationen über Teilechargen als auch Erkenntnisse aus vorherigen Wartungen und Reparaturen ein. So kann zum Beispiel ein selbstlernendes System ermitteln, welche Bedingungen Verschleiß und Ausfall von Maschinen im Produktionsbetrieb fördern und ändert dementsprechend die Maschineneinstellungen.
  • Vom Maschinenbauer zum Dienstleister
    Für Maschinenbauer bietet die IoT-Technologie hervorragende Möglichkeiten, über die eigentliche Hardware und klassische Wartungsverträge hinaus mit dem Kunden Erträge zu erzielen. Smarte, proaktive Wartung beruht auf dem gleichzeitigen Monitoring von tausenden Maschinen und Anlagen. Stellen Sie Ihren Kunden diese Daten als Dienstleistung bereit.

    So ein „Product-as-a-Service“-Modell (PaaS) ist im Vergleich zum traditionellen Geschäftsmodell weitaus konkurrenzfähiger, denn die Erfassung der Daten ist – sobald einmal implementiert – wenig aufwendig. Der Nutzen hingegen enorm, denn nun können Sie den proaktiven Service als Dienstleistungen anbieten. Sie heben sich vom Wettbewerb ab und festigen gleichzeitig die Kundenbindung.
  • Schlüsselanwendung Logistik
    Die Logistikkosten sind quer über alle Branchen ein relevanter Kostenfaktor. Smarte IoT-Anwendungen senken nicht nur die Kosten, sondern erhöhen darüber hinaus die Lieferzuverlässigkeit und überwachen die Produktqualität entlang der gesamten Lieferkette. Je nach Anforderung melden zahlreiche Sensoren ständig alle relevanten Daten zum Standort, zum Produktzustand, zu den Umgebungsbedingungen und lösen zum Beispiel bei Grenzwertüberschreitungen definierte Melderoutinen aus.
  • Business Case Prozesscontainer
    Die laufende Überwachung von Prozesscontainern auf dem Transportweg ist für Unternehmen aus Pharmazie, Kosmetik oder Lebensmittel bis dato ausgesprochen schwierig. Eine webbasierte IoT-Applikation kann die notwendige Transparenz schaffen, um die Qualität über die gesamte Lieferkette sicherzustellen. Lesen Sie dazu unsere Case Study vessel.digital: die Lösung für das effektive Monitoring von Prozessbehältern.
  • Schlüsselanwendung Prozessfertigung
    Die effiziente Produktionsplanung in der Prozessindustrie ist eine extrem komplexe Herausforderung. Eine IoT-Lösung kann hier an vielen Stellen mit Monitoring, Analysen und anderen digitalen Services unterstützen; wie zum Beispiel Remoteüberwachung, Visualisierung und Echtzeitüberwachung von Anlagenstandorten, Inline-Qualitätsüberwachung in der Lebensmittel- und Pharmaindustrie über Bildverarbeitungssysteme und vieles andere mehr. Der Nutzen sind optimierte Prozesse und Betriebsabläufe, bessere Produktqualität, geringerer Ausschuss und weniger Anlagenausfälle.
  • Business Case IBC
    Wartungsfirmen, Kunden und Hersteller zu integrieren, um den Reinigungsprozess und die Bereitstellung der IBC möglichst effektiv zu gestalten. Lesen Sie dazu unsere Case Study Serviceportal zum effektiven Tracking von IBC.
 

Die richtige IoT-Plattform

IoT Lösungen ermöglichen die Vernetzung von Geräten und Maschinen in der realen Welt mit der digitalen Unternehmenswelt. Sensoren und andere Messgeräte liefern dabei Unmengen an unstrukturierten Daten und täglich wächst die Herausforderung, eine schnelle Übertragung sowie die hohe Verfügbarkeit der Daten zu meistern.

Bildlich gesprochen, liegt die erste Aufgabe von Unternehmen im Digitalisierungsprozess darin, Ordnung in dieses babylonische Sprachgewirr zu bringen. Grundlage hierfür sind IoT-Plattformen. Hier werden die ankommenden digitalen Informationen gesammelt, verwaltet und für die Analyse und Visualisierung aufbereitet. NXTGN Solutions berät Sie bei der Wahl IoT-Plattform, die perfekt auf Ihre Anforderungen abgestimmt ist.

Die wichtigsten Anforderungen an eine IoT-Plattform:

  • Skalierbarkeit
  • Sicherheit
  • Integration von Business-Anwendungen wie ERP-System und CRM-System
  • Optimale Lifecycle-Costs
  • Verfügbare Standards für App-Programmierung, Datenvisualisierung und Geräteverwaltung (Sensoren, Microcontroller, Gateways etc.)

Ob die Erstellung von virtuellen Maschinen (Digital Twins) oder eines interaktiven Serviceportals, wir können praktisch sofort mit der Realisierung loslegen – und das auf derselben Plattform.

 

In 30 Tagen zum Proof of Concept

Innerhalb von 30 Tagen präsentieren wir Ihnen auf Basis belastbarer Daten und Simulationen die Entscheidungsgrundlage für Ihr IoT-Projekt. Vereinbaren Sie gleich ein unverbindliches Erstgespräch!